A vengeance service… worth posting out. BOOGER.PHP
Recently we where charged a vengeance service. A host who’s name will remain undisclosed requested we track who was killing one of their servers via eating bandwith. The host company has requested that I publish a summary of the findings.
The admins had detected a user was doing suspicious activities, using curl intensively and with encoded files in his account that they did not understand what they where used for.
The investigations went on for a couple of days. I got involved myself on it, due nobody could get an answer as if the user was really doing something bad or not.
First suspicious thing was that the user just had a test.php and a .htaccess page. I reproduce here the .htaccess
Options +SymlinksIfOwnerMatch -Indexes
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^$ test.php?1=0 [L]
RewriteRule ^([^/]+)/$ test.php?1=1&4=$1 [L]
RewriteRule ^([^/]+)/([^\.]+)\.html$ test.php?1=2&4=$1&5=$2 [L]
RewriteRule ^robots\.txt$ test.php?1=3 [L]
RewriteRule ^style\.css$ test.php?1=4 [L]
RewriteRule ^([^/]+)\.js$ test.php?1=5 [L]
RewriteRule ^testmonkey\.html$ test2.php [L]
RewriteRule ^(webalizer|guestbook|webemail|usage|stats|servertest|cp|cpanel|WEB-INF|reports|modlogan) - [F,L]
If you find this .htaccess in your server, don’t think it twice. Terminate that account. You can get a word to us; we will appreciate.
test.php (and test1, test2.php and so on) is an encrypted md5 code. a cat returns
cat test.php
The test.php, what is does, is to act as a proxy: any page requested using variables 2,3,4,5 is served to the site of destination. It can be just somebody serving the pages that way…. or may be user to spider any site for email harvesting, bot spam posting and so on. Choose the option you think it is used for and act accordingly.
Compromised IPs have been found to be
64.21.36.144 a NET@CCESS home user. A hacked computer (most likely) or the spammer
67.15.182.34 an EV1 server, which likely acts as proxy to further hide the user with another layer.
The sites are hosted at http://www.online-casino-winner.com/ which is an RGP domain (somebody killed it before us!
)
IP 205.214.94.202
Unfortunately, the track was lost there. We where able to shut many domains and some IPs at 3 different hosting providers, but the real identity was undisclosed. Paypal did never return to us about the actions done on the IP submitted.